Amy Award

Poets & Writers presents the Amy Award each year to recognize promising women poets, age 30 and under, living in the New York City metropolitan area or on Long Island. Winners receive a modest honorarium and give a reading in New York City. The award was established in 1995 by Paula Trachtman and Edward Butscher of East Hampton, New York, in memory of Ms. Trachtman's daughter, Amy Rothholz, an actor and poet.

The 2014 Amy Award recipients are Jerie Choi, Alexandra Smyth, Lindsay Stern, and Jeannie Vanasco. 

Read Excerpts From the 2014 Winning Entries

Amy Award 2013

Above: winners Shireen Madon, Desiree Bailey, Nabila Lovelace, and Emily Barton at the 2013 Amy Award Reading at the New York Society Library. See more photos from the event on Facebook. Photo by Margarita Corporan.

Read News and Notes from Past Winners

Past Winners

  • Desiree Bailey
  • Emily Barton
  • Genevieve Burger-Weiser
  • Lisabeth Burton 
  • Alexandra Cordera 
  • Rio Cortez
  • Caitlin Doyle
  • Dorene Evans
  • Hafizah Geter
  • K. D. Henley 
  • Shannon Holman
  • Ava Hu
  • Sarah Ruth Jacobs
  • Courtney Kampa
  • Simone Kearney
  • K. Morgan Keenan
  • Eugenia Leigh
  • Amanda Lichtenberg
  • Nabila Lovelace
  • Shireen Madon
  • Kerry Ann Minto
  • Annabelle Moseley
  • Idra Novey
  • Stella Padnos 
  • Alison Roh Park
  • Cecily Parks 
  • Prudence Peiffer
  • Shabnam Piryaei
  • Frances Justine Post
  • Hila Ratzabi 
  • Jendi Reiter
  • Christie Ann Reynolds
  • Anne Marie Rooney
  • Jessica Saffer 
  • Mrigaa Sethi
  • Laurie Siegal 
  • Jessica Max Stein 
  • Leigh Stein
  • Tamara Tiska
  • Alexandra Wilder
  • Wendy Wisner
  • Jenny Xie