Annual Dinner

In Celebration of Writers

Each year, Poets & Writers gathers people from every aspect of the book business—authors, editors, agents, publishers, designers, printers, paper companies, booksellers, and more—to celebrate the enormous contributions that writers make to our culture. The annual dinner, called In Celebration of Writers, is attended by luminaries in the arts, publishing, and media. It is the organization’s most important annual fundraising event, making our programs and resources for creative writers possible.

The 2014 dinner was held on March 11 at 583 Park Avenue. The Dinner Chair was John Sargent, CEO of Macmillan. The Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Awards, which annually honor writers who have given generously to other writers or to the broader literary community, were presented to Ian Frazier, Haki R. Madhubuti, and Joyce Carol Oates. The Editor’s Award, which recognizes a book editor who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the publication of poetry or literary prose, was presented to Kate Medina. The event raised over $565,000 to support our unique programs and services for writers. 

Read the press release.

Read more about the 2014 award recipients and see a list of past recipients.

View photos of the 2014 dinner.

Honorees and speakers from the 2014 Annual Dinner on March 11. From left: Ian Frazier, Kate Medina, John Sargent, Calvin Trillin, Haki R. Madhubuti, Anna Quindlen, Joyce Carol Oates, Elliot Figman, and Susan Isaacs.

Photo: Margarita Corporan.

The 2015 dinner will be held on March 23, 2015 in NYC. If you'd like additional information, contact Rachel Schuder at 212-226-3586 x201 or