Writers for Writers Award, Editor’s Award

Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award

Recipients of the 2016 Barnes & Nobel Writers for Writers Award are Elizabeth George (the best-selling mystery writer who established a foundation that provides unrestricted grants to poets, short story writers, emerging novelists, non-fiction writers, and playwrights); Marcelo Hernandez Castillo, Christopher Soto, and Javier Zamora (organizers of Undocupoets); and Erin Belieu, Cate Marvin, and Ann Townsend (cofounders of VIDA: Women in Literary Arts).

Read the press release here.

Elizabeth George is the author of highly acclaimed novels of psychological suspense. She won the Anthony and Agatha Best First Novel awards in America and received the Grand Prix de Litterature Policiere in France. In 1990 she was awarded the prestigious German prize for international mystery fiction, the MIMI. Her novels have now been adapted for television by the BBC. An Edgar and Macavity Nominee as well as a New York Times and international bestselling author, Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island in the state of Washington. (Credit: Michael Stadler)

Christopher Soto (aka Loma) is a queer latin@ punk poet and prison abolitionist. Named one of "Ten Up and Coming Latinx Poets" by Remezcla, Soto's first chapbook Sad Girl Poems is forthcoming from Sibling Rivalry Press. A cofounder of the Undocupoets Campaign and founder of Nepantla: A Journal Dedicated to Queer Poets of Color with the Lambda Literary Foundation, Soto received an MFA from NYU. For more information visit christophersoto-poet.com. (Credit: Irmand Trujillo)

Marcelo Hernandez Castillo was born in Zacatecas, Mexico, and crossed the border through Tijuana at the age of five with his family. He is a Canto Mundo fellow and the first undocumented student to graduate from the University of Michigan’s MFA program. He teaches summers as the resident artist at the Atlantic Center for the Arts in Florida and he is working on his first poetry manuscript which was a finalist for the Alice James Book Prize and the National Poetry Series. (Credit: Kenzie Allen)  

Javier Zamora was born in La Herradura, El Salvador in 1990. At the age of nine he migrated to the United States. Zamora holds fellowships from CantoMundo, Colgate University, MacDowell, the National Endowment for the Arts, and Yaddo. His poems appear or are forthcoming in APR, Narrative, Ploughshares, POETRY, The Kenyon Review, and elsewhere. His chapbook Nine Immigrant Years is the winner of the inaugural Organic Weapons Arts Chapbook Contest. Zamora is also a member of the Our Parent’s Bones Campaign whose goal is to bring justice to the families of the 10,000 disappeared during El Salvador’s civil war. You can learn more about it at ourparentsbones.org. (Credit: Ana Ruth Zamora)

Erin Belieu  is the author of four poetry collections, including the recent Slant Six (December 2014), which received a starred review from Publishers’ Weekly, and was chosen as one of the ten best books of the year in the New York Times. Belieu’s work is published by Copper Canyon Press. Her poems have appeared in magazines such as The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Tin House, Ploughshares, and in several editions of Best American Poetry. Belieu is a professor at Florida State University where she directs their Creative Writing Program. (Credit: Gesi Schilling)

Cate Marvin’s first book, World’s Tallest Disaster, was chosen by Robert Pinksy for the 2000 Kathryn A. Morton Prize and published by Sarabande Books in 2001. In 2002, she received the Kate Tufts Discovery Prize. She co-edited with poet Michael Dumanis the anthology Legitimate Dangers: American Poets of the New Century (Sarabande Books, 2006). Her second book of poems, Fragment of the Head of a Queen, for which she received a Whiting Award, was published by Sarabande in 2007. Marvin teaches poetry writing in Lesley University’s Low-Residency M.F.A. Program and is Professor of English at the College of Staten Island, City University of New York. A 2015 Guggenheim Fellow, her third book of poems, Oracle, was released from W.W. Norton & Co. in March 2015. (Credit: Rex Lott)

Ann Townsend is the author of two collections of poetry: Dime Store Erotics (1998) and The Coronary Garden (2005), and is co-editor of Radiant Lyre: Essays on Lyric Poetry (2008). She has received fellowships from the Lannan Foundation, The National Endowment for the Arts, and the Ohio Arts Council, and is a winner of the Discovery Prize from The Nation. Her poetry and essays appear in The Kenyon Review, Poetry, The Nation, and The Paris Review, among others. Professor of English-Creative Writing at Denison University, she hybridizes modern daylilies on her small farm in Granville, Ohio.

The Editor’s Award

The 2016 Editor’s Award will be presented to Paul Slovak. Read the press release here.

Slovak began his publishing career in 1983 as a publicity assistant for Penguin Books, and was Director of Publicity for Viking for five years in the early 1990s, at which time he became an editor. Currently Vice President, Executive Editor for Viking Penguin, he publishes a wide range of fiction, nonfiction including memoir, cultural history, and natural history, and poetry.  Authors he has worked with include T.C. Boyle, Geraldine Brooks, Susan Choi, Daniel Dennett, Roddy Doyle, Elizabeth Gilbert, A.M. Homes, Kevin Kelly, Sue Monk Kidd, William Kennedy, David Lodge, Stewart O’Nan, Leslie Marmon Silko, Elif Shafak, Rebecca Solnit, Amor Towles, and William T. Vollmann.  For the past decade and a half, Slovak has also edited six works of contemporary poetry every year under the “Penguin Poets” imprint.  The poets he has worked with include Carl Dennis, Amy Gerstler, Eugene Gloria, Terrance Hayes, Joanna Klink, Ann Lauterbach, Patricia Lockwood, Adrian Matejka, Alice Notley, Willie Perdomo, Michael Robbins, Pattiann Rogers, Anne Waldman, and Robert Wrigley.

Previous Award Winners

Margaret Atwood
Cheryl Boyce-Taylor
Christopher Castellani 
Barbara Epler (Editor's Award)

Ian Frazier
Haki R. Madhubuti
Joyce Carol Oates
Kate Medina (Editor's Award)

Barbara Kingsolver
Sidney Offit
Quincy Troupe 

Steve Berry
Rigoberto Gonzalez
Judith Kelman
Chuck Adams (Editor's Award)
Leonard Riggo (Leadership Award)

Judy Blume
Oakley Hall
Sharon Olds 

David Baldacci
Kwame Dawes
Carol Muske-Dukes
Kathryn Court (Editor's Award)

Bob Holman
Ishmael Reed
Amy Tan 

Maria Mazziotti Gillan
John Grisham
Elizabeth Nunez
Jonathan Galassi (Editor's Award) 

E. Lynn Harris
June Jordan
Wally Lamb 

Junot Díaz 
Maxine Hong Kingston
M. L. Liebler
Pat Strachan (Editor's Award) 

Cornelius Eady
Marita Golden
Scott Turow 

Russell Banks
Robert Caro
Sarah Gambito
Daniel Halpern (Editor's Award) 

Stanley Kunitz
Barbara Goldsmith
Terry McMillan 

Toi Derricotte
A.M. Homes
Peter Straub 

Edward Albee
E. L. Doctorow
Susan Sontag 

E. Ethelbert Miller
Francine Prose
Susan Richards Shreve 

Rita Dove 
Stephen King 
Hilma Wolitzer

Regie Cabico
Bill Henderson
Anna Quindlen 

Mary Higgins Clark 
James A. Michener 
Arthur Miller 
Walter Mosley 
William Styron