Chicago State University

Chicago State University

MFA Program

Chicago, IL
Genres Include:
Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
October 15, 2015
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Kelly Ellis
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: Kelly Norman Ellis, Sandra Jackson-Opoku, and Quraysh Ali Lansana. Fiction writers: Sandra Jackson-Opoku and Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu. Nonfiction writer: Brenda E. Aghahowa.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Graduate Assistantships

Other Features: 

This program features a Visiting Writers Series. Courses are available in publishing, playwriting, and screenwriting. The MFA program is housed in the The Gwendolyn Brooks Center for Black Literature and Creative Writing, a literary and cultural center invested in researching, teaching, and disseminating information about acclaimed Black writers, especially the life and works of Gwendolyn Brooks (1917-2000), former Poet Laureate of Illinois and Distinguished Professor of English at CSU.

The application deadline for the spring term is October 15; the deadline for the fall term is March 15.