Emerson College

Emerson College

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
Boston, MA
Genres Include:
Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction
2-3 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
February 1, 2016
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Shaylin Hogan
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: Jonathan Aaron, Christine Casson, Gail Mazur, Pablo Medina, John Skoyles, and Daniel Tobin. Fiction writers: Ben Brooks, Maria Flook, Lise Haines, DeWitt Henry, Kim McLarin, William Orem, Pamela Painter, Jon Papernick, Ladette Randolph, Frederick Reiken, Jessica Treadway, Steve Yarbrough, and Mako Yoshikawa. Nonfiction writers: Jabari Asim, Richard Hoffman, Megan Marshall, Jerald Walker, and Douglas Whynott.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Teaching Assistantships, Research Assistantships, Presidential and Merit Aid Scholarships, Internships, Student Employment

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts a reading series, an alumni and faculty reading series, and the Bright Lights film series. Other features include the literary journal Ploughshares, the student-run magazine Redivider, the online literary magazine Words Apart, and opportunities to work with local high school students through the emersonWRITES program. Students also have the opportunity to take publishing courses.


Tina Egnoski, Matthew Goodman, Stacy McKee, Matt Rasmussen, Kate Racculia, Kathleen Rooney, Asako Serizawa, Laura van den Berg, Urban Waite, Eric Wasserman