Goddard College

Goddard College

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
Plainfield, VT
Genres Include:
Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction
Program Size: 
100 (Vermont); 50 (Washington)
Application Deadline: 
December 1, 2014
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
David De Lucca
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: Jan Clausen, Beatrix Gates, Bhanu Kapil, and Jane Wohl. Fiction writers: Rebecca Brown, Douglas A. Martin, John McManus, Rachel Pollack, Rahna Reiko Rizzuto, and Darcey Steinke. Nonfiction writers: Kenny Fries, Michael Klein, Nicola Morris, and Richard Panek.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 


Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

This program frequently features visiting writers (every residency) and publishing professionals (every other residency). Alumni are often invited back to celebrate their book-length publications. Students complete a fifteen-hour teaching practicum in their communities. Associated conferences include Clockhouse Writers’ Conference and Port Townsend Writers Conference.

Goddard College has two campuses: one in Vermont and one in Washington. Cross-genre study is available. Additional genres include playwriting, screenwriting, young adult, and the graphic novel.

For the spring term, the application deadline is December 1 for the Vermont campus, January 15 for the Washington campus. For the fall term, submit by May 15 for th eVermont campus and by June 15 for the Washington campus.


Ellis Avery, Adam Braver, Karen Engelmann, Karen Essex, Cara Hoffman, Mary Johnson, Chris Millis, Christian Peet, Matthew Quick, Selah Saterstrom, Alexis Smith