Murray State University

Murray State University

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
Murray, KY
Genres Include:
Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
October 1, 2014
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Nita King
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: Blas Falconer, Gary Jackson, Carrie Jerrell, Ann Neelon, and Jeff Skinner. Fiction writers: Tommy Hays, Dale Ray Phillips, Lynn Pruett, and Julia Watts. Nonfiction writers: Riley Hanick, Karen Salyer McElmurray, and Elena Passarello.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Scholarships, Financial Aid

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

This program offers a concentration in young adult fiction. Students complete two 10-day residencies, one in July and one in January.

The deadline for the January residency is October 1. The deadline for the July residency is April 1.