Sanibel Island Writers Conference

Posted 9.22.10

Sanibel Island, FL
Event Date: 
January 1, 2099
Application Deadline: 
September 30, 2015

The 10th annual Sanibel Island Writers Conference, sponsored by Florida Gulf Coast University, was held from November 5 to November 8 at the BIG ARTS center and the Sanibel Public Library on Sanibel Island, Florida. The conference featured workshops in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction, as well as manuscript consultations, readings, panels, concerts, and book signings. Faculty and visiting writers included poets Erica Dawson, Beth Ann Fennelly, Nick Flynn, Jim Gustafson, Jay Hopler, Kimberly Johnson, Steve Kistulentz, and Alan Michael Parker; fiction writers Lynne Barrett, Charles Bock, John Dufresne, John Wayne Falbey, Gina Frangello, Tom Franklin, William Giraldi, Shane Hinton, Christina Baker Kline, Kimberly Lojewski, Tom Piazza, Mark Powell, Margo Rabb, Deborah Reed, Jim Shepard, and Karen Shepard; creative nonfiction writers Steve Almond, Andrea Askowitz, Leslie Jamison, Lyn Millner, Darin Strauss, and Jay Wexler; agent Christopher Schelling (Selectric Artists); and publisher Ryan Rivas (Burrow Press). The keynote speaker was fiction writer Edwidge Danticat. The cost of the conference was $500 ($400 for BIG ARTS members and $300 for full-time students). For a manuscript consultation or workshop, writers submitted up to 10 pages of poetry or prose by September 30. The cost of an individual manuscript consultation was $100; the cost of a small-group workshop was $100. General registration was first come, first served. Lodging was available at area inns and hotels for discounted rates. Visit the website for an application and complete guidelines.

Contact Information: 

Sanibel Island Writers Conference, Reed Hall 111, Florida Gulf Coast University, 10501 FGCU Boulevard South, Fort Meyers, FL 33965. (239) 590-7421. Tom DeMarchi, Director.