Sewanee Writers’ Conference

Posted 2.4.10

Sewanee, TN
Event Date: 
July 19, 2016
Financial Aid Application Deadline: 
April 15, 2016

The 27th annual Sewanee Writers’ Conference will be held from July 19 to July 31 on the campus of Sewanee: The University of the South in Sewanee, Tennessee. The conference features workshops, lectures, readings, and panel discussions for poets and fiction writers. The faculty includes poets Daniel Anderson, B. H. Fairchild, Robert Hass, Mark Jarman, Maurice Manning, Marilyn Nelson, A. E. Stallings, and Sidney Wade; and fiction writers Richard Bausch, John Casey, Tony Earley, Randall Kenan, Jill McCorkle, Alice McDermott, Erin McGraw, Christine Schutt, Allen Wier, and Steve Yarbrough. Charles Martin, A. E. Stallings, and N. S. Thompson will offer a supplemental poetry translation workshop. Agents and editors will include Millicent Bennett (Grand Central Publishing), Valerie Borchardt (Georges Borchardt Literary Agency), Sarah Burnes (The Gernert Company), MaryKatherine Callaway (LSU Press), George David Clark (32 Poems), Barbara Epler (New Directions), Gary Fisketjon (Knopf), Emily Forland (Brandt & Hochman Literary Agents), Rob Griffith (Measure), Gail Hochman (Brandt & Hochman Literary Agents), Mike Levine (Northwestern University Press), David Lynn (Kenyon Review), Kathy Pories (Algonquin Books), Elisabeth Schmitz (Grove/Atlantic), Anna Stein (ICM Partners), Liz Van Hoose, Michael Wiegers (Copper Canyon Press), Amy Williams (The Williams Company), Robert Wilson (American Scholar), David Yezzi (Hopkins Review and New Criterion), and Renée Zuckerbrot (Renée Zuckerbrot Literary Agency). Tuition, including room and board, is $1,800. Participants receive tuition assistance covering two-thirds of the cost of attendance. Additional fellowships and scholarships are available for published writers. Submit 10 to 15 pages of poetry or 20 to 40 pages of fiction by April 15. There is no application fee. Visit the website for an application and complete guidelines.

Contact Information: 

Sewanee Writers’ Conference, Sewanee: The University of the South, 119 Gailor Hall, 735 University Avenue, Sewanee,TN 37383.