Taos Summer Writers’ Conference

Posted 2.4.10

Taos, NM
Event Date: 
July 13, 2014
Application Deadline: 
July 20, 2014

The 16th annual Taos Summer Writers’ Conference will be held from July 13 to July 20 at the Sagebrush Inn and Conference Center in Taos, New Mexico. The conference offers weekend and weeklong workshops in poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and publishing, as well as master classes, readings, manuscript consultations, and a visit to the nearby D. H. Lawrence Ranch. The faculty includes poets Amy Beeder, Laura Brodie, Veronica Golos, and Leslie Ullman; fiction writers John Dufresne, Minrose Gwin, Pam Houston, Priscilla Long, B. K. Loren, Michael Maren, Demetria Martinez, Kent Nelson, Les Standiford, and Summer Wood; and creative nonfiction writers Stephen Benz, Greg Martin, Debra Monroe, and Justin St. Germain; editors Nancy Naomi Carlson (Tupelo Press) and Elise McHugh (University of New Mexico Press); and agents Allison Hunter and Alexis Hurley (Inkwell Management), and Jane Von Mehren (Zachary Shuster Harmsworth). Each workshop is limited to 12 participants; each master class is limited to six participants. Tuition is $350 for a weekend workshop, $650 for a weeklong workshop, or $975 for both; tuition for master classes is $750 each plus an additional reading fee of $500 to $775 for manuscripts up to 300 pages. For master classes, submit 15 to 20 pages of your manuscript with a $35 application fee. Room rates at the conference hotel range from $74 to $114 per night; lodging at other nearby hotels and inns is also available at discounted rates. Financial aid is available. The deadline for general registration is July 20. Visit the website for more information.

Contact Information: 

Taos Summer Writers’ Conference, MSC03 2170, 1 University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM 87131. (505) 277-5572. Sharon Oard Warner, Director.