Thirty-Three Twitter Feeds to Follow

by Staff

Online Exclusive

Online Only, posted 7.1.11

July/August 2011

There is a seemingly endless number of feeds and folks to follow on Twitter, but if you're interested in engaging, entertaining tweets that will keep you updated on all things literary, begin with these. 

1. Literary fiction and nonfiction publisher Alfred A. Knopf @AAKnopf  

2. Indie publisher Algonquin Books @AlgonquinBooks  

3. Mother memoirist and author extraordinaire Ayelet Waldman @ayeletw 

4. The New Yorker's book blog @bookbench

5. Novelist Colson Whitehead @colsonwhitehead

6. Novelist, memoirist, and essayist Dani Shapiro @danijshapiro

7. Columnist for the New York Times books section Dwight Garner @DwightGarner

8. Multiplatform literary publisher Electric Literature @ElectricLit 

9. Novelist and Brooklyn bookseller Emma Straub @emmastraub  

10. Novelist and publishing news writer Andrew Shaffer @EvilWylie

11. Literary publisher Farrar, Straus and Giroux @FSG_Books  

12. Mediabistro's book blog @GalleyCat  

13. Minneapolis-based indie publisher Graywolf Press @graywolfpress

14. London-based newspaper the Guardian's book section @GuardianBooks 

15. Music and book writer David Gutowski @largeheartedboy

16. Senior writer and cofounder of Salon.com Laura Miller @magiciansbook

17. All-around funny guy and novelist Mat Johnson @mat_johnson

18. NYC indie bookseller McNally Jackson @mcnallyjackson  

19. The New York Times books section @nytimesbooks

20. Literary magazine the Paris Review @parisreview

21. Publisher of Poetry and nonprofit organization the Poetry Foundation @PoetryFound 

22. Nonprofit organization the Academy of American Poets @POETSorg

23. Publishers Marketplace's daily e-newsletter PublishersLunch @PublishersLunch

24. Editor, writer, and reader Radhika Jones @radhikajones

25. Writer and events coordinator for McNally Jackson Michele Filgate @readandbreathe

26. Previous publisher of Soft Skull Press, current founder of publishing platform Cursor Richard Nash @R_Nash

27. Tin House editor Rob Spillman @robspill 

28. The Orchid Thief author and New Yorker columnist Susan Orlean @susanorlean 

29. Publishers Marketplace's news editor Sarah Weinman @sarahw 

30. Book trade e-newsletter Shelf Awareness @ShelfAwareness

31. Shelf Awareness editor and inventor of #fridayreads Bethanne Patrick @thebookmaven

32. Online books, art, and culture magazine the Millions @The_Millions 

33. Online culture magazine the Rumpus @The_Rumpus 

While you're at it, don't miss ours: @poetswritersinc.

Comments

redweather says...

Please add our new book blog at www.redweatherreview.com to the list. We post frequently and cover new fiction and nonfiction, particularly overlooked books. We also do interviews and other features on authors.

RiverVox says...

I'm pleased to see that you included Ayelet Waldman but you seem to have left out Neil Gaiman who tweets as @neilhimself. Not only is he a master at twitter, but he always includes recommendations of other authors and promotes book events.