University of Alaska Anchorage

University of Alaska Anchorage

MFA Program

Anchorage, AK
Genres Include:
Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction
3 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
January 15, 2017
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
David Stevenson, Kim Eames
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Anne Caston
Fiction: Jo-Ann Mapson
Nonfiction: Sherry Simpson

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers the Eva Saulitis Memorial Scholarship, the UAA April Relyea Scholarship, and the Jason Wenger Memorial Writing Award.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

Students attend one 13-day residency each July at the University of Alaska campus in Anchorage. The program hosts a reading series and field trips. Other features include the Literary Practicum, through which each student designs and conducts a community-based field project.