University of Arizona

University of Arizona

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
Tucson, AZ
Genres Include:
Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
January 1, 2016
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Sharonne Meyerson
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: Susan Briante, Farid Matuk, and Joshua Marie Wilkinson. Fiction writers: Kate Bernheimer, Julie Iromuanya, Manuel Muñoz, and Aurelie Sheehan. Nonfiction writers: Christopher Cokinos, Alison Hawthorne Deming, Fenton Johnson, and Ander Monson.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

All students receive a full tuition waiver, health benefits, and a stipend of approximately $14,000 through a teaching assistantship, a Writer as Citizen position, a Poetry Center assistantship, or a Fairy Tale Review assistantship.

Other Features: 

The program houses the Poetry Center, three reading series, and the literary journals Sonora Review and Fairy Tale Review. Other features include Writer as Citizen internships, opportunities for a fifth semester, and travel grants.


Loren Goodman, Tony Hoagland, Megan Kimble, Matt Mendez, Antonya Nelson, David Rivard, Richard Russo, Peggy Shoemaker, Richard Siken, David Foster Wallace