University of Iowa Nonfiction Writing Program

University of Iowa Nonfiction Writing Program

MFA Program

Iowa City, IA
Genres Include:
Creative Nonfiction
3 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
December 13, 2013
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
John D'Agata
Core Faculty Includes: 

Bernard Cooper, John D'Agata, Patricia Foster, Jeff Porter, Bonnie Sunstein

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Teaching Assistantships, Research Assistantships, Fellowships

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The Nonfiction Writing Program is a three-year fully-funded graduate writing program specializing in exploring new approaches to creative nonfiction while also encouraging students to develop an appreciation for the deep history of the genre. Students take courses in Forms of the Essay, Readings in Nonfiction, Radio Essays, Literary Journalism, Memoir, Travelogues, Building an Anthology, Researching Nonfiction, and History of the Essay, along with regular day-long master classes on subjects such as Pitching to Magazines, Approaching the Job Market, and Living as a Writer. The Nonfiction Writing Program hosts a Visiting Writers Series, featuring recent guests such as John McPhee, Patricia Hampl, Phillip Lopate, Elliot Weinberger, Alison Bechdel, John Jeremiah Sullivan, Maggie Nelson, Lawrence Weschler, and others. The program also serves as host of the NonfictioNow Conference, a biennial gathering of over nonfiction writers, teachers, and students from around the world, and also features the Overseas Writing Workshop, the Institute for the Essay, and the Center for the Book.


JoAnne Beard, Eula Biss, John D'Agata, Hope Edelman, Stephanie Griest, Amy Leach, Yiyun Li, Lucas Mann, Jennifer Percy, Ryan Van Meter