University of Missouri, St. Louis

University of Missouri, St. Louis

MFA Program

St. Louis, MO
Genres Include:
Poetry and Fiction
3 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
March 1, 2016
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Steve Schreiner
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: Steve Schreiner and Shane Seely. Fiction writers: John Dalton and Mary Troy.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Teaching Assistantships, Graduate Assistantships, Tutoring, positions at Natural Bridge, Teaching Continuing Education workshops

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts visiting writers and the Natural Bridge Debut Writers Series. Other features include the student-run journal Natural Bridge and opportunities to teach through the Writers in the Schools program.


Sally Van Doren  - Winner of the Walt Whitman Award and author of two poetry collections.

Adam Hayward – Winner of the 2013 Autumn House Press non-Fiction Award.

Michael Nye – Managing Editor of The Missouri Review and author of the story collection Strategies Against Extinction

Seth Rabb – Writer for NBC Sitcom “Go On”