Western Michigan University

Western Michigan University

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
Kalamazoo, MI
Genres Include:
Poetry and Fiction
3 Years
Program Size: 
30 (MFA and PhD students combined)
Application Deadline: 
December 15, 2015
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Nancy Eimers
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Nancy Eimers and William Olsen. Fiction: T. Geronimo Johnson. Fiction and nonfiction: Thisbe Nissen. Poetry, fiction, and nonfiction: Richard Katrovas.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Teaching Assistantships, Editorial and Administrative Assistantships

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program also offers degrees in playwriting, and hosts the Gwen Frostic Reading Series and the Gwen Frostic Creative Writing Awards. Other features include the student-run literary magazine Third Coast, the literary press New Issues Poetry & Prose, and opportunities to collaborate with the Kalamazoo Book Arts Center and local theater organizations.